Butler County Historical Society Names New Officers and Board Members for 2019

The Butler County Historical Society will begin 2019 with a new slate of officers when the Board of Trustees meets on Thursday, January 17.  Brian Smith will return for a second year as the board’s president.  He is a Ross School District English teacher and is entering his fifth year as a board member.  The new vice-president is Jack Armstrong, retired media consultant and long-time executive of TV Hamilton.  

Greg Young, retired superintendent of the Ross School District, will serve as board treasurer.  Young served as board president for three years when he was on the board from 2007 through 2012.  Patty Fawns, is returning to serve on the board as its secretary.  Fawns previously served as a board trustee for six years.  Returning board members are Liesl Bauer, Chris Carroll, B. Gayle Niehaus, Richard Piland and Katie Wright.  Kathy Creighton remains the society’s Executive Director, a position she has occupied since 2010.  

New members of the board of trustees will be Sara Butler who is returning to serve on the board for a second tour of service and Joanne Williamson.  Butler was a board member for six years from 2011 to 2017 when she was the society’s vice-president for four years.  Williamson is beginning her first year as a trustee.   Leaving the board are William Groth, who served three years as treasurer and Richard O Jones, the society’s secretary for four years.  

The society’s Board of Trustees oversees the BCHS programs, exhibits, operations, and efforts to preserve and interpret Butler County’s rich heritage.  During 2018, more than 10,600 people visited the society to conduct research, tour the Benninghofen House museum, attend a lecture series program, visit an exhibit, or attended a Speaker’s Bureau presentation.